[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

4th International Workshop on Speech in Noise: Intelligibility and Quality

It is our pleasure to announce that registration for the 4th workshop on Speech in Noise is now
Attendants can register at:-


The workshop will be held at Cardiff University on 5-6th January, 2012. The registration fee is GBP

The workshop on Speech in Noise: Intelligibility and Quality proved successful for three years in a
row now.
Each previous workshop attracted more than seventy-five people with backgrounds in engineering,
telecommunication, neuroscience, psychoacoustics, psychology and audiology. The workshops' highly
informal atmosphere successfully contributed to a fertile exchange of ideas between industry and
After London in 2009, Amsterdam in 2010, and Lyon in 2011  the workshop moves to Cardiff. 
In accordance with its traditional spirit, the 2012 workshop will cover a very broad range of
topics including signal processing, cochlear processing, auditory scene analysis, phonetics, and

In the afternoon of the 5th of January, we will have a poster-session, where all participants can
present and
discuss their work. In the evening, this session will be followed by a special guest lecture by Bob
sponsored by Action on Hearing Loss.

The 6th of January will be filled with oral presentations covering all major scientific aspects of
Confirmed speakers as of today are:-

    Thomas Brand (Carl von Ossietzky University, Oldenburg, D),
    Bob Carlyon (MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge, UK),
    Andy Faulkner (University College London, London, UK),
    Christian Fullgrabe (MRC Institute of Hearing Research, Nottingham, UK),
    Graham Naylor (Oticon, Eriksholm, DK)
    Juan-Pablo Ramirez (Technische UniversitÃt Berlin, Berlin, D)
    Michael Stone (Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK),
    Cees Taal (Technical University Delft, Delft, NL),  

The second day will close with the presentation of the Colin Cherry award for best poster

Gaston Hilkhuysen, John Culling and Rolph Houben 
(organising committee)