[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[AUDITORY] BKN25 Symposium: Milestones in Music Cognition

[Please distribute widely]

Milestones in Music Cognition: A Quarter-Century Celebration of Books by Bregman, Krumhansl and Narmour (BKN25)

 In 1990, three major books were published that were to become transformative pillars in the field of music cognition research and beyond:

Albert Bregman's Auditory Scene Analysis: The Perceptual Organization of Sound, MIT Press.

Carol Lynne Krumhansl's The Cognitive Foundations of Musical Pitch, Oxford University Press, and

Eugene Narmour's The Analysis and Cognition of Basic Melodic Structures: The Implication-Realization Model. The University of Chicago Press.

In anticipation of the 25th anniversary of these influential tomes, a two-day symposium will be held at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University in Montreal July 7-8, 2014. The symposium will be composed of opening and closing keynote addresses, three sessions with invited speakers reflecting upon the impact of the honorees' work on the fields of music psychology, music theory, cognitive neuroscience and engineering, and a contributed poster session. Musical interludes will be provided by the students and faculty of the Schulich School of Music. The invited talks include:

 Opening introduction: Lola Cuddy, Queen's University

Opening keynote: Caroline Palmer, McGill University

Session in honor of Albert Bregman (chaired by Stephen McAdams, McGill University)

            Claude Alain, Rotman Research Institute and University of Toronto

            Dan Ellis, Columbia University

            David Huron, Ohio State University

            Albert Bregman, McGill University (discussant)

Session in honor of Carol Lynne Krumhansl (chaired by David Temperley, Eastman School of Music)

            Elaine Chew, Queen Mary University of London

Fred Lerdahl, Columbia University

            William Forde Thompson, Macquarie University

            Carol Lynne Krumhansl, Cornell University (discussant)

Session in honor of Eugene Narmour (chaired by Alexander Rozin, West Chester University)

            Justin London, Carleton College

            Frank Russo, Ryerson University

            Zohar Eitan, Tel Aviv University

            Eugene Narmour, University of Pennsylvania (discussant)

Closing keynote: Robert Gjerdingen, Northwestern University

Poster session (open to submissions)

Participants who wish to present their own work in the poster session may submit abstracts to the email address (bkn25@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) by March 1, 2014. The posters should present current research that relates in a direct way to the work of one or more of the honorees. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. A selection committee will examine the submissions and authors will be informed of the outcome by April 1, 2014.

A special issue of Music Perception to honor these three books will be organized by guest editors David Temperley, Alexander Rozin and Stephen McAdams, targeting the June 2015 issue. Manuscripts for this special issue should be submitted directly to the journal by October 1, 2014 (indicate in the cover letter that the submission is intended for the special issue). Speakers and poster presenters at the McGill symposium are encouraged to submit. All manuscripts will be reviewed through the normal procedure. The final versions of all submissions must be accepted by February 28, 2015 to be considered for inclusion in the special issue. Due to the limited page space for a single issue, papers that are deemed acceptable for publication in Music Perception but for which space is not available will appear in subsequent issues of the journal.

We hope the music cognition community will join us in celebrating our colleagues both at the symposium and through their submissions to the special issue. Further information concerning registration and lodging possibilities for the symposium will be available in the near future on the symposium website: http://www.music.mcgill.ca/bkn25. But mark this momentous event in your calendar now!

The organizing committee

Lola Cuddy

Stephen McAdams

Alexander Rozin

David Temperley