M4C and SNDAN upgrades available (James Beauchamp )

Subject: M4C and SNDAN upgrades available
From:    James Beauchamp  <jwb(at)TIMBRE.MUSIC.UIUC.EDU>
Date:    Wed, 10 Jul 1996 16:21:18 -0600

This is to announce upgrades to two software packages available for ftp at our site: SNDAN, an spectral analysis/synthesis package, and Music 4C, an event-structured sound synthesis package. Both are designed to run on Unix workstations. ******************************************************************************* SNDAN is a Unix-based software package for spectral analysis, display, modification, and synthesis of musical sounds. It uses EPS graphics for display under X Windows or NextStep. Both fixed filter bank harmonic analysis with arbitrary base frequency and tracking analysis with possibilities for pitch detection and reduction to harmonics are available. Recently SNDAN's display repertoire has been upgraded for improved 3D graphics. monan's 'pp' command now allows arbitrary orientations of the 3D spectrum with optional hidden line removal and color or grey scale. In addition, there is a 2D "spectrogram" command, 'ftc', which uses color or grey scale to indicate amplitude. Documentation for the various SNDAN commands are contained in the sndan/doc subdirectory. To obtain a copy of SNDAN, login to sndan(at)cmp-nxt.music.uiuc.edu and follow the instructions for ftp back to your machine. pw is 'cnmat.12'. Then follow the simple instructions for installation. ******************************************************************************* Music 4C (M4C) has recently been upgraded to version 1.5. Music 4C has the following features: 1) Sonic events are given by I statements which give instrument name, start time and duration (in seconds) and numerical parameter values or strings peculiar to the instrument. 2) Function statements work the same as I statements except no duration is given. Their purpose is to create tables. 3) Instrument definitions are written in C. Separate code is written for piece initialization, note-on, note-off (optional), and sample computation. 4) Each instrument is compiled as a separate C module and several modules can be linked together with the M4C library to form an orchestra. 5) Once the orchestra is compiled it is run with the score in the background to produce a sound file. The sound files can be NeXT, headerless short int, or headerless floating point. 6) ascii pseudo-music notation and score processor software is part of the package. A midi file preprocessor is avaiable. A "class orchestra", consisting of 9 instruments, is set up for beginner use. Its use is discussed in M4C_intro.txt in the m4c/doc directory. With version 1.5 Music 4C includes unit generator functions for handling sound files and doing reverberation. In addition, several example instruments are given which illustrate FM modulation (1 and 2 carriers); additive synthesis based on analysis files produced by SNDAN; ghost instruments for amplitude control and reverberation; several examples of simple and complex reverberation; some sample instruments; and a trumpet instrument which uses Spectral Dynamic Synthesis. To obtain a copy of Music 4C, login to m4cguest(at)cmp-nxt.music.uiuc.edu and follow the instructions for ftp back to your machine. pw is same as the login name. Then follow the simple instructions for installation. ******************************************************************************* Please let me know if you have any problems with these procedures. Jim Beauchamp j-beauch(at)uiuc.edu

This message came from the mail archive
maintained by:
DAn Ellis <dpwe@ee.columbia.edu>
Electrical Engineering Dept., Columbia University